News Release

Regular holidays, special non-working days for 2024 bared

President Ferdinand R. Marcos Jr. has identified the regular holidays and special non-working days for the year 2024.

In Proclamation No. 368 signed by Executive Secretary Lucas P. Bersamin on October 11, it stated that the Department of Labor and Employment shall implement the guidelines for the proclamation.

The proclamation shall take effect immediately and shall be published in a newspaper of general circulation.

Under Proclamation No. 368, President Marcos declared the following regular holidays:

Jan. 1      – New Year’s Day
March 28 – Maundy Thursday
March 29 – Good Friday
April 9      – Araw ng Kagitingan
May 1      – Labor Day
June 12   – Independence Day
Aug. 26    – National Heroes Day (Last Monday of August)
Nov. 30    – Bonifacio Day
Dec. 25    – Christmas Day
Dec. 30    – Rizal Day

On the other hand, the following were declared as special (non-working) days:

Aug. 21    – Ninoy Aquino Day
Nov. 1      – All Saints’ Day
Dec. 8      – Feast of the Immaculate Conception of Mary
Dec. 31    – Last Day of the Year

Additional special (non-working) days:

Feb. 10    – Chinese New Year
March 30 – Black Saturday
Nov. 2      – All Souls’ Day
Dec. 24    – Christmas Eve

“The proclamations declaring national holidays for the observance of Eid’l Fitr and Eid’l Adha shall hereafter be issued after the approximate dates of the Islamic holidays have been determined in accordance with the Islamic calendar (Hijra) or the lunar calendar, or upon Islamic astronomical calculations, whichever is possible or convenient,” the Proclamation stated.

With this, the National Commission on Muslim Filipinos is advised, at the appropriate time, to recommend to the Office of the President (OP) the actual dates on which Eid’l Fitr and Eid’l Adha holidays will respectively fall. | PND