News Release

PBBM pushes for LGU empowerment; swears in 14 Govs, others as PFP members

President Ferdinand R. Marcos Jr. on Thursday urged the newly-sworn in members of the Partido Federal ng Pilipinas (PFP) to uphold the ideology of the party in empowering local government units as decision-makers through the concept of federal governance.

“With the power centers being given to the local governments, to the legislative districts, and to those who are operating at the local level, and thereby bringing those power centers to many, many, many places, it makes for a more stable political structure and makes a more stable political life,” President Marcos said during the oath-taking of the new PFP members in Malacañang.

He noted that there is a need to devolve power, discretion, and functions to the lowest level of governance and highlighted that bringing decision-making closer to the ground will streamline processes and prevent undue delays that are seemingly apparent in centralized decision-making.

“Kung kaya na nung governor, kung kaya na ng congressman, sila na mag-decide (dahil) sila naman nakakaalam,” he said.

President Marcos also said that the party is making an effort to align political forces to strengthen and further promote its ideologies among political leaders.

He also expressed his aspiration for the government to focus more on governance rather than politics.

“We are attempting to transform the government, to transform the bureaucracy, to transform even the thinking of ordinary Filipino citizens and our politicians. Ibahin natin ang pag-iisip para naman ay makaramdam naman ‘yung ating mga kababayan ng pagbabago na talagang ang pamahalaan ay nandiyan para tulungan sila,” the president said.

Formed in 2018, the Partido Federal ng Pilipinas is a national political party in the Philippines chaired by President Marcos. The party is pushing for federalism in the Philippines.

During the run-up to the 2022 national election, the UniTeam Alliance was formed by the PFP, Lakas-CMD, Hugpong ng Pagbabago (HNP), and Partido ng Masang Pilipino (PMP), with guest candidates from other parties. Marcos won by a landslide in the general election.

Among those who took their oath as new members are: Rep. Ferdinand Alexander A. Marcos, 1st District, Ilocos Norte; Gov. Rogelio Neil P. Roque, Bukidnon; Gov. Marilou H. Cayco, Batanes; Gov. Christian M. Noveras, Aurora; Gov. Hermogenes E. Ebdane Jr., Zambales; Gov. Eduardo B. Gadiano, Occidental Mindoro; Gov. Ricarte R. Padilla, Camarines Norte; Gov. Edcel Greco B. Lagman, Albay; Gov. Erico Aristotle C. Aumentado, Bohol; Gov. Damian G. Mercado, Southern Leyte; Gov. Imelda Q. Dimaporo, Lanao del Norte; Gov. Dorothy M. Gonzaga, Davao de Oro; Gov. Edwin I. Jubahib, Davao del Norte; Gov. Arthur R. Defensor Jr., Iloilo; Gov. Abdulraof A. Macacua, Maguindanao del Norte; Vice Gov. Katherine C. Agapay, Laguna; Secretary Lope B. Santos III, Lead Convenor, National Anti-Poverty Commission (NAPC); Assistant Secretary Arlan M. Mangelen, Department of Agriculture; Girlie E. Amarillo, Officer-in-Charge, Office of the Deputy Director General-NAPC.

Sen. Francis N. Tolentino, South Cotabato Governor and League of Provinces of the Philippines National President Reynaldo S. Tamayo, and NAPC Media Coordination Consultant Antonio Chavez were also present.

PFP officers who also attended the event include Thompson Lantion, Secretary General; Pablo Dario S. Ocampo, Secretary General; Atty. George S. Briones, General Counsel; Atty. Richard Brett S. Uy, Deputy General Counsel; Atty. Rico H. Alday, Deputy General Counsel; Edgardo A. Acaba, National Auditor; Atty. Lino E.A. Dumas, National Legal Officer; and Manuel D. Andal, Vice President for Political. PND